Mike Love:
12 Sides of Summer



12 Sides of Summer cover


Mike Love's Album, 12 Sides of Summer, Out July 2019

July 19, 2019 — Co-founder and chief lyricist of The Beach Boys, Mike Love released his new album, 12 Sides of Summer, on July 19, 2019 via BMG. The album is available in CD and digital formats (streaming and available for download worldwide). Mike has made videos for Rockaway Beach and “California Beach.”

Produced by Sam Hollander (Panic! at the Disco) and the touring Beach Boys' longtime musical director Scott Totten, 12 Sides of Summer features a mix of original songs and fresh takes on classics including George Harrison’s “Here Comes the Sun,” The Dave Clark Five's “Over and Over and Over Again,” ABBA's “On and On and On,” and The Ramones' “Rockaway Beach.” In addition, the album includes updated renditions of The Beach Boys' “Surfin',” “Surfin' Safari,” and “It's Ok,” (produced by Michael Lloyd) featuring Hanson, who previously collaborated on Mike's 2018 holiday single “Finally It's Christmas.” The album also includes a rhythmic bilingual rendition of “The Girl from Ipanema,” produced by Paul Fauerso.

Earlier this summer, The Ramones drummer Marky Ramone joined Mike and fellow Beach Boy Bruce Johnston onstage at The Paramount in NYC to celebrate the release of the first single off the album, “Rockaway Beach.” To watch the performance, click here.

12 Sides of Summer is a testament to, and continuation of, Mike Love's remarkable career. For more than fifty years, he has been lead singer and front man, taking the sounds of The Beach Boys to audiences in every corner of the globe. Mike has co-authored more than a dozen hit singles, cementing The Beach Boys as one of the only artists to have produced twelve Top 10 Singles within 5 years. With iconic and timeless tracks like “Good Vibrations,” “Fun, Fun, Fun,” “I Get Around,” and “Kokomo,” The Beach Boys have created some of the most performed songs in pop music history.

Track Listings

  1. California Beach
  2. It's Ok (featuring Hanson)
  3. Surfin'
  4. California Sun
  5. Surfin' Safari
  6. On and On and On
  7. Here Comes the Sun
  8. Girl from Ipanema
  9. Over and Over and Over Again
  10. Keepin' the Summer Alive
  11. Summertime Blues
  12. Rockaway Beach